Illustration Friday: phenomenon

December 17, 2010 § 6 Comments

This week’s illustration friday topic is ‘phenomenon’.

The phenomenon I chose to illustrate is phosphorescence – which is what happens when bio-luminescent plankton (oo-er, look at that vocabulary!) floats in seawater. It’s glimmery and green and lights up when you disturb the water, and if you’ve never seen it, then your life needs more beach paddles on moony nights.

Have lovely Christmases, my dears. x

§ 6 Responses to Illustration Friday: phenomenon

  • TMartin says:

    Such a beautiful painting! Lovely swirls and deep colors and simple shapes.

  • TMartin says:

    Hey, thanks. I’m going to see what I can find out about Christopher Leitch. I have a lot of art books, but I don’t think I have the one that you mention. I’ve actually done this before, and the more I do it, the more I remember my dreams.

    I find swirly water really hard to portray, and I think your solution in stylizing it works beautifully.

  • Amy says:

    Thanks Theresa. The book I mentioned it a really good one if you’re interested in visual journals; full of different approches and interesting bits of other people’s brains. You can read a bit about it here

    http://www.jennifernew.com/books_drawing.html

    (hmm, don’t know how to make a link in a comment; you might have to copy-paste!)

    I used to write down my dreams when I woke up, and that made me remember more of them more easily too after a while. Don’t know why I stopped really.

    The stylizing comes from looking at Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s watercolours, Japanese prints, and altogether too much art nouveau, I think!

  • Megan says:

    Thanks for this Amy, I experienced bioluminescence for the first time last night (In Vancouver, BC) and was looking for an image that captured it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illustration Friday: phenomenon at to sea in a sieve.

meta

