Illustration Friday: mail

December 22, 2010 § 5 Comments

This week’s topic is ‘mail’. For me, the sending and recieving of post is inextricably tangled up with the idea of distance/absence, and the strange imaginary place you enter when you try to talk to someone who is Somewhere Else. Because she expresses it in all its odd unwholesome loveliness far better than I can, my picture goes alongside Carol Ann Duffy’s beautiful poem Words, Wide Night.

Here’s the image…

…and here are the words that inspired it:-

Words, Wide Night

Somewhere on the other side of this wide night

and the distance between us, I am thinking of you.

The room is turning slowly away from the moon.

This is pleasurable. Or shall I cross that out and say

it is sad? In one of the tenses I singing

an impossible song of desire that you cannot hear.

La lala la. See? I close my eyes and imagine

the dark hills I would have to cross

to reach you. For I am in love with you and this

is what it is like, or what it is like in words.

Carol Ann Duffy

§ 5 Responses to Illustration Friday: mail

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illustration Friday: mail at to sea in a sieve.

meta

