illustration friday: deja-vu

January 10, 2011 § 3 Comments

Quite recently I caught sight of a photo of myself and thought why on earth is there a picture of grandma in her twenties lying on that table?! – for this week’s topic I’m thinking about the way bodies hold memories: I have my dad’s flared ribcage and knobbly shoulders, my mum’s waist, my paternal grandmother’s face, the same body as my sister before her pregnancy…and muscles left over from lugging a rucksack up towards Everest earlier this year, bruises because I’m clumsy – a breathing record of who I am and where I’ve been.

Also, doing life-drawing and listening to music and working BIG (the sketch is A1 sized) is all powerfully reminiscent of the time I spent studying.

§ 3 Responses to illustration friday: deja-vu

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading illustration friday: deja-vu at to sea in a sieve.

meta

