illustration friday: stir (and the blooming knitting!)

March 18, 2011 § 5 Comments

The word ‘stir’ makes me think of sleep, and I’ve been thinking about how many fairy tales involve sleeping women (Snow White poisoned to sleep, Sleeping Beauty bewitched to sleep, Rapunzel if not sleeping then at least living in a kind of suspended animation, the anonymous princess stirring on top of the pea). Whatever all this passive slumber implies about women’s roles (and I do NOT condone it!), it’s a compelling image. Here is my Lady of Shalott, half way between sleep and death.

(By the way, some of the pre Victorian-and-sanitised versions of Sleeping Beauty are terrifyingly dark stories: closer to Almodovar’s Talk To Her than anything in a children’s book. Midori Sydner’s essay is a good place to start, if you’re interested in finding out a bit more.)

And finally, because I have been going on about it, here is my finished knitting:-The pattern is ‘Edie’ by Kim Hargreaves, and the yarn is pure wool double knit by Rowan. I can highly recommend both, if you feel like a bit of indulgent splurging (or, like me, wait for a birthday and make requests!). And my silver bracelet was made in here by my lovely dad.

§ 5 Responses to illustration friday: stir (and the blooming knitting!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading illustration friday: stir (and the blooming knitting!) at to sea in a sieve.

meta

