sewing for a pair of birthdays

October 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

The first birthday being the one that happened as I knit these tiny blue socks – here is a pair of tiny shoes to go with them. (made with kid leather scraps from my auntie’s attic, quilting cotton from Gina of Lulu&You, buttons from my extensive stash, and Heather Bailey’s bitty booties pattern.)

The second birthday being separated from the first by a couple of weeks, or eighty years, depending on how you look at it, and belonging to my granny. She is a hugely inspiring allotment-gardening Ted-Hughes-reading woman who shares my love of long walks, outdoor swims and beautiful woodcuts, cooks delicious things, knits her own jumpers, makes gorgeous ceramics, sends me interesting art postcards, takes shit from nobody, and generally makes me proud to share her genes. I embroidered cushions for her. Here one is:-I photographed it in a cottage in Hay-on-Wye, where the whole family met up to celebrate her 80th. It was completely beautiful, and if I had a bigger vehicle and a smaller conscience, I would have stolen this armchair. Just look at those stripes!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sewing for a pair of birthdays at to sea in a sieve.

meta

