wabi sabi

August 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve been interested in the idea of wabi sabi for a long time. I’ve also been darning a carpet by hand recently. Both these things have made me think about the importance of repair; there is something very lovely about objects that have been touched, used, mended and used some more. I like the idea of beauty as a state that encompasses transience, decay and imperfection. It’s warmer and more appealing than beauty that relies on things being symmetrical, pristine, unscathed (not to mention easier to live with!).

Anyway, here are some pictures. Top to bottom, they are a nearly-worn-out tape-measure I stole from my dad’s treadle sewing machine, the aforementioned carpet (I had an accident with it, a craft knife, and a too-small cutting mat. I should stop working on the floor.), and a cushion made from antique Indian fabric patched by my granny and darned by me using hand-spun wool and shop-bought cotton.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading wabi sabi at to sea in a sieve.

meta

